It has come to light that vegans and vegetarians strictly adhere to their diet and prefer to have medications which have not been prepared by using non-vegetable products. However, many of the vegetarians are unaware that the medications are formed by suing gelatin, which is derived from animals.
Gelatin is used for making shells, to coat drug powder and to make the liquid thicker. When a doctor prescribes medication to the patient, the focus is on the active contents of the drug rather than the coated material of it.
About 500 people were surveyed and it was found that most of the vegans are reluctant of taking drugs which have been coasted with animal products. But one in ten is least bothered about it.
It has been recommended that the doctors should be encouraged to ask patients about their dirty preferences. The author of the survey said, "Many health care professionals are unaware that certain patient groups have dietetic preferences, which may mean they may not wish to take gelatin-containing medications, and most patients are unaware of what their oral medication contains".
The findings of the survey have been published in the Postgraduate Medical Journal. It has been recommended that special drugs should be prepared for the vegans so that their stricter diet preference isn't hindered by consuming drugs or prescription medications.
Diekman from the Washington University said is of the view that awareness about the contents of the prescription drugs should be imparted to those who are concerned about what they consume. It is hoped that the findings of the survey would bring a change in the way drugs are prescribed to the vegans. In short, the priorities of the patients should be given preference.
- Fire threatens entire city in Alberta
- Authorities order evacuation of entire city in Alberta due to wildfire
- Mitel Networks Corp of Canada to Buy Polycom Inc for Almost $2 Billion
- Reportedly Bombardier Inc. is Nearing a Deal with Delta for C Series Jetliners
- Review shows alcohol has no net health benefits