Nintendo takes eShop offline to fix connectivity issues

Nintendo takes eShop offline to fix connectivity issues

In a notice posted to its Facebook page on Friday, console maker Nintendo said that it is taking its eShop offline for some time, so that it can fix the connectivity issues which the customers have been facing over the last few days.

Notifying the customers about the temporary Nintendo eShop shutdown, the company said in its notice on the Facebook page that eShop will remain unavailable from 4 p. m. ET (1 p. m. PT) on December 27 to 4 a. m. ET (1 a. m. PT) on December 28.

The shutdown is a result of the connectivity issues which cropped up on December 25, when new owners of Wii U or 3DS consoles were setting up their new systems, creating new Nintendo Network IDs, buying games, and downloading updates, on the Christmas day.

Noting that the volume of traffic to the Nintendo eShop on the Christmas day was `overwhelming,' Nintendo said that the more-than-anticipated traffic of new Wii U and 3DS owners prevented the other customers from connecting to the store.

Apologizing for the "connection problems in the Nintendo eShop," Nintendo said in the notice on its Facebook page: "We understand this is taking longer than expected, but we can assure you that providing a solution is our top priority. In an effort to manage the high volume of traffic and ultimately improve your experience, we are temporarily taking the Nintendo eShop services offline."

Companies: 
General: 
Technology: